Researchers and Staff by Group

Alaska Fisheries Science Center
Research Interests E-mail
Doyle, Miriam early life history ecology of marine fish species Miriam.Doyle@noaa.gov
Whitehouse, Andy andy.whitehouse@noaa.gov
Ortiz, Ivonne ivonne@uw.edu
Kearney, Kelly kelly.kearney@noaa.gov
Arctic Sea Lions
Research Interests E-mail
Cutler, Joshua sea lions joshua.cutler@noaa.gov
Luxa, Kathryn sea lions katie.luxa@noaa.gov
Arctic Seals
Research Interests E-mail
Brady, Gavin arctic seals gavin.brady@noaa.gov
Richmond, Erin Arctic seals erin.richmond@noaa.gov
Arctic Whales
Research Interests E-mail
Castellote, Manuel manuel.castellote@noaa.gov
Ives, Eliza whales eliza.ives@noaa.gov
Kennedy, Amy whales amy.kennedy@noaa.gov
Brower, Amelia whales amelia.brower@noaa.gov
Grassia, Stephanie whales stephanie.grassia@noaa.gov
Sims, Christy christy.sims@noaa.gov
Willoughby, Amy amy.willoughby@noaa.gov
Mocklin-Lawrence, Julie julie.mocklin@noaa.gov
Kimber, Jessica Arctic whales jessica.kimber@noaa.gov
Wood, Megan woodm7@uw.edu
Braen, Eric whales ebraen@uw.edu
Harlacher, Jenna Arctic whales jenna.harlacher@gmail.com
Vate Brattstrom, Linda Arctic whales linda.vatebrattstrom@noaa.gov
Atmospheric Chemistry
Research Interests E-mail
Covert, Dave Physical and optical observations of aerosol particles for application to atmospheric chemistry, radiation transfer and climate models dcovert@u.washington.edu
Doherty, Sarah impact of a certain type of aerosols, "black carbon" (more commonly known as soot) on snow reflectivity sarahd@atmos.washington.edu
Johnson, James atmospheric chemistry James.E.Johnson@noaa.gov
Bates, Timothy atmos chemistry tim.bates@noaa.gov
Upchurch, Lucia lucia.upchurch@noaa.gov
Atmospheric Radiation & Modeling
Research Interests E-mail
Ackerman, Thomas radiation and climate; climate modeling tpa2@u.washington.edu
Hinkelman, Laura Earth's energy budget; surface insolation variability; effect of clouds on atmospheric radiative transfer laurahin@u.washington.edu
Atmospheric Sciences
Research Interests E-mail
Mitchell, Todd observational studies of the mean conditions and variations of the atmosphere, ocean, and biosphere; how climate affects fish mitchell@atmos.washington.edu
Serra, Yolande yserra@uw.edu
Chlorofluorocarbon Tracer Program
Research Interests E-mail
Sonnerup, Rolf transient tracer observations in upper oceans to estimate how rapidly the ocean 'breathes' atmospheric gases rolf@uw.edu
Claret Cortes, Mariona mclaret@uw.edu
Coastal Oceanography
Research Interests E-mail
Gothmann, Anne gothmann@uw.edu
Siedlecki, Samantha siedlesa@u.washington.edu
McCabe, Ryan rmccabe.ocean@gmail.com
Saenger, Casey csaenger@uw.edu
Nguyen, Thanh Tam nttam15@uw.edu
Engineering Development Division
Research Interests E-mail
Meyer, Andrew Andrew.Meyer@noaa.gov
Trask, Robert Bob.Trask@noaa.gov
Osse, Jim james.osse@noaa.gov
Walton, Tom tomw3@uw.edu
Learned, Giovanni giovannl@uw.edu
FOCI (Fish-Ocean Coord Invest)
Research Interests E-mail
Wang, Muyin climate change Muyin.Wang@noaa.gov
Wood, Kevin Kevin.R.Wood@noaa.gov
Yang, Qiong qiong.yang@noaa.gov
Ostendorf, Morgan morgan.ostendorf@noaa.gov
Bond, Nicholas variability in climate and atmospheric forcing of the Bering Sea, and topographical effects on coastal winds in Alaska Nicholas.Bond@noaa.gov
Strausz, David david.strausz@noaa.gov
Cheng, Wei wei.cheng@noaa.gov
Bell, Shaun shaun.bell@noaa.gov
Guy, Lisa Lisa.Guy@noaa.gov
Tabisola, Heather heather.tabisola@noaa.gov
Hamilton, Drew impact of atmospheric aerosol particles on climate and air quality Drew.C.Hamilton@noaa.gov
Van Pelt, Thomas tvanpelt@uw.edu
Hermann, Albert circulation, plankton and fish dynamics of the Gulf of Alaska and the Bering Sea Albert.J.Hermann@noaa.gov
Kachel, Nancy hydrography in the Bering Sea and Gulf of Alaska, and its relationship to ecosystem structure Nancy.Kachel@noaa.gov
Lebon, Geoffrey Geoffrey.T.Lebon@noaa.gov
Mordy, Calvin mordy@u.washington.edu
Proctor, Peter Peter.Proctor@noaa.gov
Sullivan, Margaret Peggy.Sullivan@noaa.gov
JISAO Administrative Staff
Research Interests E-mail
Averick, Fred faverick@u.washington.edu
Marquist, Collen marquist@u.washington.edu
Smith, Mary mchsmith@u.washington.edu
Thompson, Jed jedthom@u.washington.edu
Malarek, Deborah dmalarek@uw.edu
Jones, M. jisaopay@uw.edu
Marine Carbon
Research Interests E-mail
Musielewicz, Sylvia coastal pCO2 moorings Sylvia.Musielewicz@noaa.gov
Osborne, John John.Osborne@noaa.gov
Sutton, Adrienne Ocean acidification Adrienne.Sutton@noaa.gov
Okazaki, Remy remy.okazaki@noaa.gov
Carter, Brendan brendan.carter@noaa.gov
Newell, Sonya Ruth sonya.ruth.newell@noaa.gov
Dietrich, Colin colin.dietrich@noaa.gov
Herndon, Julian julian.herndon@noaa.gov
Bednarsek, Nina nbedna@uw.edu
Observing Systems
Research Interests E-mail
Bond, Nicholas variability in climate and atmospheric forcing of the Bering Sea, and topographical effects on coastal winds in Alaska Nicholas.Bond@noaa.gov
Chiodi, Andrew Andy.Chiodi@noaa.gov
O'Brien, Kevin Kevin.M.O'Brien@noaa.gov
Smith, Karl Karl.Smith@noaa.gov
Hankin, Steven steven.c.hankin@noaa.gov
Ocean Climate Stations
Research Interests E-mail
Keene, Jennifer Jennifer.Keene@noaa.gov
Office of the Washington State Climatologist
Research Interests E-mail
Bumbaco, Karin kbumbaco@u.washington.edu
Bond, Nicholas variability in climate and atmospheric forcing of the Bering Sea, and topographical effects on coastal winds in Alaska Nicholas.Bond@noaa.gov
Research Associate
Research Interests E-mail
Chang, Bonnie bxc@uw.edu
Martini, Kim kmartini@uw.edu
Raudzens Bailey, Adriana araudz@uw.edu
White, Rachel rhwhite@uw.edu
Research Services
Research Interests E-mail
Gamble, Dale dale.gamble@noaa.gov
Nakamura, Tracey Tracey.Nakamura@noaa.gov
Nicklis, Achim Achim.H.Nicklis@noaa.gov
Rivera, David David.M.Rivera@noaa.gov
Zhu, Willa Willa.Zhu@noaa.gov
Johnson, Devin devin.m.johnson@noaa.gov
Osse, Jim james.osse@noaa.gov
McLain, Patrick patrick.d.mclain@noaa.gov
Hanein, Adi ahanein@uw.edu
Tropical Moored Buoy Array
Research Interests E-mail
Brown, Sonya sonya.brown@noaa.gov
Dougherty, Daniel Daniel.M.Dougherty@noaa.gov
Fey, Curran data visualization; data management;database applications Curran.Fey@noaa.gov
Higley, William william.higley@noaa.gov
Martin, Korey Korey.Martin@noaa.gov
McClurg, Dai software packages, data management, and analysis for the TAO project Dai.C.McClurg@noaa.gov
Stratton, Linda Linda.D.Stratton@noaa.gov
Zhang, Dongxiao large scale ocean circulation and its role in climate and climate variability Dongxiao.Zhang@noaa.gov
Zimmerman, David oceanographic and meteorological instrumentation; sea-going operations David.Zimmerman@noaa.gov
Marshall, Robert rbtmshl@uw.edu
Wells, Ryan engineering ryan.wells@noaa.gov
Berk, Patrick patrick.berk@noaa.gov
Bond, Nicholas variability in climate and atmospheric forcing of the Bering Sea, and topographical effects on coastal winds in Alaska Nicholas.Bond@noaa.gov
Tsunami
Research Interests E-mail
Newman, Jean behavior of tsunamis and sea level phenomena Jean.C.Newman@noaa.gov
Pells, Clinton Clint.Pells@noaa.gov
Spillane, Michael tsunami wave propagation and detection; climate change spillmc@u.washington.edu
Wei, Yong tsunami modeling and forecast, coastal hazard mitigation yong.wei@noaa.gov
Wright, Lindsey Lindsey.Wright@noaa.gov
Zhou, Hongqiang (John) Hongqiang.Zhou@noaa.gov
Arcas, Diego diego.arcas@noaa.gov
Denbo, Donald Donald.W.Denbo@noaa.gov
Gica, Edison hydrodynamics, coastal engineering Edison.Gica@noaa.gov
Kamb, Linus tsunami - computer science linus.kamb@noaa.gov
Vent Fluids
Research Interests E-mail
Butterfield, David submarine volcanoes and hydrothermal systems David.A.Butterfield@noaa.gov
Roe, Kevin determination of elements and metals in hydrothermal vent fluids Kevin.Roe@noaa.gov
Larson, Ben vents Ben.Larson@noaa.gov
Baker, Edward vents edward.baker@noaa.gov
Vent Plumes
Research Interests E-mail
Buck, Nathaniel Nathan.Buck@noaa.gov
Resing, Joseph trace element geochemistry of oceans Joseph.Resing@noaa.gov