Researchers and Staff by Group

Alaska Fisheries Science Center
Research Interests E-mail
Ortiz, Ivonne ivonne@uw.edu
Doyle, Miriam early life history ecology of marine fish species Miriam.Doyle@noaa.gov
Whitehouse, Andy andy.whitehouse@noaa.gov
Holsman, Kirstin K. kirstin.holsman@noaa.gov
Atmospheric Chemistry
Research Interests E-mail
Doherty, Sarah impact of a certain type of aerosols, "black carbon" (more commonly known as soot) on snow reflectivity sarahd@atmos.washington.edu
Hamilton, Drew impact of atmospheric aerosol particles on climate and air quality Drew.C.Hamilton@noaa.gov
Johnson, James atmospheric chemistry James.E.Johnson@noaa.gov
Covert, Dave Physical and optical observations of aerosol particles for application to atmospheric chemistry, radiation transfer and climate models dcovert@u.washington.edu
Bates, Timothy tim.bates@noaa.gov
Atmospheric Radiation & Modeling
Research Interests E-mail
Evans, Stuart smevans@u.washington.edu
Hinkelman, Laura Earth's energy budget; surface insolation variability; effect of clouds on atmospheric radiative transfer laurahin@u.washington.edu
Ackerman, Thomas radiation and climate; climate modeling tpa2@u.washington.edu
Muhlbauer, Andreas Marine boundary layer clouds, cirrus clouds, orographic clouds and precipitation, cloud-resolving and mesoscale modeling, cloud microphysics, cloud dynamics, aerosol-cloud interactions andreasm@u.washington.edu
Chlorofluorocarbon Tracer Program
Research Interests E-mail
Sonnerup, Rolf transient tracer observations in upper oceans to estimate how rapidly the ocean 'breathes' atmospheric gases rolf@uw.edu
Coastal Oceanography
Research Interests E-mail
Siedlecki, Samantha siedlesa@u.washington.edu
Banas, Neil neil@ocean.washington.edu
McCabe, Ryan rmccabe@ocean.washington.edu
Saenger, Casey csaenger@uw.edu
Engineering Development Division
Research Interests E-mail
Trask, Robert Bob.Trask@noaa.gov
Osse, Jim james.osse@noaa.gov
Wells, Ryan engineering ryan.wells@noaa.gov
Meyer, Andrew Andrew.Meyer@noaa.gov
FOCI (Fish-Ocean Coord Invest)
Research Interests E-mail
Proctor, Peter Peter.Proctor@noaa.gov
Hermann, Albert circulation, plankton and fish dynamics of the Gulf of Alaska and the Bering Sea Albert.J.Hermann@noaa.gov
Bond, Nicholas variability in climate and atmospheric forcing of the Bering Sea, and topographical effects on coastal winds in Alaska Nicholas.Bond@noaa.gov
Guy, Lisa Lisa.Guy@noaa.gov
Cheng, Wei wcheng@ocean.washington.edu
McKeever, Scott Scott.McKeever@noaa.gov
Wood, Kevin Kevin.R.Wood@noaa.gov
Sullivan, Margaret Peggy.Sullivan@noaa.gov
Wang, Muyin climate change Muyin.Wang@noaa.gov
Mordy, Calvin mordy@u.washington.edu
Ostendorf, Morgan morgan.ostendorf@noaa.gov
Strausz, David david.strausz@noaa.gov
Bell, Shaun shaun.bell@noaa.gov
JISAO Administrative Staff
Research Interests E-mail
Smith, Mary mchsmith@u.washington.edu
Marquist, Collen marquist@u.washington.edu
Thompson, Jed jedthom@u.washington.edu
Greer, Joseph jgreer@u.washington.edu
Averick, Fred faverick@u.washington.edu
Malarek, Deborah dmalarek@uw.edu
Feng, Angela afeng21@uw.edu
Marine Carbon
Research Interests E-mail
Musielewicz, Sylvia coastal pCO2 moorings Sylvia.Musielewicz@noaa.gov
Lebon, Geoffrey Geoffrey.T.Lebon@noaa.gov
Osborne, John John.Osborne@noaa.gov
Sutton, Adrienne Ocean acidification Adrienne.Sutton@noaa.gov
Okazaki, Remy remy.okazaki@noaa.gov
Carter, Brendan brendan.carter@noaa.gov
Observing Systems
Research Interests E-mail
Chiodi, Andrew Andy.Chiodi@noaa.gov
Bond, Nicholas variability in climate and atmospheric forcing of the Bering Sea, and topographical effects on coastal winds in Alaska Nicholas.Bond@noaa.gov
O'Brien, Kevin Kevin.M.O'Brien@noaa.gov
Smith, Karl Karl.Smith@noaa.gov
Ocean Climate Stations
Research Interests E-mail
Keene, Jennifer Jennifer.Keene@noaa.gov
Ronnholm, Keith Keith.Ronnholm@noaa.gov
Office of the Washington State Climatologist
Research Interests E-mail
Bond, Nicholas variability in climate and atmospheric forcing of the Bering Sea, and topographical effects on coastal winds in Alaska Nicholas.Bond@noaa.gov
Bumbaco, Karin kbumbaco@u.washington.edu
Research Services
Research Interests E-mail
Huggins, Robert rob.huggins@noaa.gov
Zhu, Hui Willa Willa.Zhu@noaa.gov
Nakamura, Tracey Tracey.Nakamura@noaa.gov
Nicklis, Achim Achim.H.Nicklis@noaa.gov
Meyer, Andrew Andrew.Meyer@noaa.gov
Gamble, Dale dale.gamble@noaa.gov
Rivera, David David.M.Rivera@noaa.gov
Trask, Robert Bob.Trask@noaa.gov
Johnson, Devin devin.m.johnson@noaa.gov
Osse, Jim james.osse@noaa.gov
Wells, Ryan engineering ryan.wells@noaa.gov
Tropical Atmosphere Ocean
Research Interests E-mail
Brown, Sonya sonya.brown@noaa.gov
Dougherty, Daniel Daniel.M.Dougherty@noaa.gov
McClurg, Dai software packages, data management, and analysis for the TAO project Dai.C.McClurg@noaa.gov
Zhang, Dongxiao large scale ocean circulation and its role in climate and climate variability Dongxiao.Zhang@noaa.gov
Bond, Nicholas variability in climate and atmospheric forcing of the Bering Sea, and topographical effects on coastal winds in Alaska Nicholas.Bond@noaa.gov
Zimmerman, David oceanographic and meteorological instrumentation; sea-going operations David.Zimmerman@noaa.gov
Fey, Curran data visualization; data management;database applications Curran.Fey@noaa.gov
Berk, Patrick patrick.berk@noaa.gov
Stratton, Linda Linda.D.Stratton@noaa.gov
Martin, Korey Korey.Martin@noaa.gov
Higley, William william.higley@noaa.gov
Marshall, Robert rbtmshl@uw.edu
Tsunami
Research Interests E-mail
Pells, Clinton Clint.Pells@noaa.gov
Tang, Liujuan Liujuan.Tang@noaa.gov
Wright, Lindsey Lindsey.Wright@noaa.gov
Gica, Edison hydrodynamics, coastal engineering Edison.Gica@noaa.gov
Spillane, Michael tsunami wave propagation and detection; climate change spillmc@u.washington.edu
Wei, Yong tsunami modeling and forecast, coastal hazard mitigation yong.wei@noaa.gov
Kamb, Linus tsunami - computer science linus.kamb@noaa.gov
Arcas, Diego diego.arcas@noaa.gov
Wang, Nannan nnwanguw@uw.edu
Denbo, Donald Donald.W.Denbo@noaa.gov
Zhou, Hongqiang (John) Hongqiang.Zhou@noaa.gov
Newman, Jean behavior of tsunamis and sea level phenomena Jean.C.Newman@noaa.gov
Vent Fluids
Research Interests E-mail
Roe, Kevin determination of elements and metals in hydrothermal vent fluids Kevin.Roe@noaa.gov
Butterfield, David submarine volcanoes and hydrothermal systems David.A.Butterfield@noaa.gov
Larson, Ben vents Ben.Larson@noaa.gov
Baker, Edward vents edward.baker@noaa.gov
Vent Plumes
Research Interests E-mail
Buck, Nathaniel Nathan.Buck@noaa.gov
Resing, Joseph trace element geochemistry of oceans Joseph.Resing@noaa.gov